Campervan Homes

Campervan - Camping - Mini Camper - Travel

Australia - Backpack - Accomodation - Camp Site






A Mummy In Her Backpack / Una Momia En Su Mochila

RRP $19.95

Flor enjoyed her two-week trip to Mexico, though she's glad to be back at school. But when she tries to pull her homework out of her backpack, she's shocked to feel a cold hand clutching hers. Thinking that the pesky boys in her class are playing a trick on her, she turns around to look into her pack. She's even more stunned when she sees two yellow eyes peeking out at her.

Flor and her best friend Lupita stare in astonishment as a cowboy hat, followed by a small man with dark yellow skin and thin, stringy hair, emerges from her backpack. He introduces himself as Rafa, a mummy from the famous museum in Guanajuato. Flor visited the museum and learned that some people buried there mummified naturally. She can't believe that an actual mummy hitched a ride with her to the United States!

Amusing hijinks ensue as the girls try to hide Rafa from their teacher, classmates and family. And when Rafa realizes that it's almost the Day of the Dead, or El Dia de los Muertos, he longs to return home. The girls are forced to reveal their secret and seek help from an adult. How can they get Rafa home in time for the annual celebration honoring deceased loved ones? Published in a bilingual "flip" format, young readers ages 8 to 12 will savor this entertaining story about mummies, friendship and responsibility.


There's A Dragon In My Backpack!

RRP $12.99

Book two in a hilarious new series featuring one boy and a little dragon with an oversized appetite for adventure. Eric finally succumbs to Pan's demands and agrees to take the Mini-Dragon to school with him. But Eric gets more trouble than he bargained for when nightmare neighbour Toby switches his backpack with Eric's and dragon-naps Pan! Now Eric must dash across town to Toby's posh school and swap them back before his snappy secret is out! Perfect for fans of Jeremy Strong and Compton Valance.

About the Author

Tom Nicoll has been writing since he was at school, where he enjoyed trying to fit in as much silliness into his essays as he could possibly get away with. He is also a big comedy, TV and movie nerd. Tom lives just outside Edinburgh with his wife, daughter and a cat that thinks it's a dog. There's a Dragon in my Dinner is his first book for children. Sarah Horne grew up in Derbyshire and spent much of her childhood scampering in the nearby fields with a few goats. Then she decided to be sensible and studied Illustration at Falmouth College of Arts and gained a Master's degree at Kingston University. She now lives in London and specialises in funny, inky illustration.


Backpacking Safety Tips

RRP $12.95

The transient life of a backpacker promises staggering landscapes and inspiring adventures, but the fun is all too often cut short by a stolen wallet or 'Delhi belly'. Instead, you can be aware and be prepared. These useful tips will help you put your mind at rest.



Search

Campervan Homes Articles

Campervan Camping Mini Camper Travel
Australia Backpack Accomodation Camp Site
Outback

Campervan Homes Books

Campervan Camping Mini Camper Travel
Australia Backpack Accomodation Camp Site
Outback

Campervan Homes